sunday 2 colored copy

The newest Casey and Kyle collection, I Think We’re Gonna Need More Towels!!! will be released on April 30th and we couldn’t be more excited to share it with you!

Here’s the cover!

Cover art mockup copy

Fans of Casey and Kyle will find a lot to like in the new book, including a new character. “I received a lot of comments from readers that they were disappointed that there wasn’t a girl in the strip. I spent a long time trying to come up with a girl character that I thought would fit with the cast. I wanted to add one for “Something Sticky This Way Comes!!!” but nothing felt right. Then, in late 2014, I had a few really great ideas that didn’t fit any of the existing characters. The ideas all fit together, though, and the character that took shape became Emma Fitzgerald. It’s always a little tricky to add someone new to the cast. It changes how the existing characters relate, and it can complicate things. You don’t want to do it carelessly. When it’s right, though, it’s obvious. The character starts causing new ideas to come out that you wouldn’t ordinarily think of. That’s what started happening and I found that Emma started to take the strip in a fun new direction and started to give some of the other characters new facets that were fun to explore.”

hi res 4

The cartoons also have a new look. “Since I started the strip, I’ve been using markers to do the art. Nice markers, but markers. Last summer, I started to mess around with the old ways of cartooning, using dip pens and jars of ink and brushes. I finally settled on a fountain pen and then a brush to fill in the black areas. The process takes longer to execute, but the look is much more distinctive and fun and I enjoy this way of working a lot more because it let’s me create lines that have more expression, so I feel like the finished project is far better.”

Here’s an example of the difference.

style comparison

Will also decided to include 15 Sunday style cartoons in this book. “Each of the first two books had a couple full page cartoons, but I left them out of the last book. The fun thing about illustrating “Boxes” was having so much more room to draw, so I thought this time it would be fun to give myself more space and to tackle some bigger ideas. It’s funny how you end up writing in a completely different way when you have a whole page to develop an idea. Some concepts work better in a single strip, or even in a series of cartoons, but some of them work best in a full-page comic. It was a lot of fun to tackle those big ideas with the new tools and see what I was able to come up with.”

sunday 6 colored copy

The book will be available April 30th on Amazon in paperback. Signed copies will be available at caseyandkyle.com.